Akuku Toru

Background Information

The Akuku-Toru LGA is one of the 23 LGAs in Rivers State with its headquarter at Abonnema. It is located in the Rivers South West Senatorial district and has 17 political wards. The LGA was created from the formerDegema LGA in1990. It is bounded in the north byAbua/Odual and Degema LGAs, in the south by Bight of Bonny (Atlantic ocean, in the east by Asari Toru LGA, and in the west by Bayelsa State. The LGA occupies a landmass of 1443 sq. km. The projected population of the LGA in 2020 is 249,132 spread among 8 communities and 40 settlements. The predominant occupation of the people is fishing, while the major religion is Christianity with a few adherents to African Traditional Religion. The main Ethnic group in the LGA is Kalabari. There are 9 functional Primary Health Facilities spread across the LGA, a General Hospital located at Abonnema and a Cottage Hospital in Soku.

The LGA Health Authority & Technical Committee

The Local Government Primary Health Care Authority and the Primary Health Care Technical Committee are responsible for the management and implementation of Primary Health Care activities and services at the LGA level. The health authority is the operational arm of the Rivers State Primary Health Care Management Board. It has the chairman of the local government as the Committee Chairman and the Medical Officer of Health as the Secretary. 

The PHC Technical committee is composed of the Medical Officer of Health who serves as the chairman, the Deputy PHC Coordinator, the Programme Managers of the LGA, and the heads of facilities. This committee meets once a month to discuss issues bordering on health service delivery and improvement. The following are the list of members of the committee.
  1. Hon. Chairman (or a representative) (Committee chairman)
  2. PHC Coordinator/MOH (Committee Secretary)
  3. LGA Supervisory Councilor for Health
  4. Head of Finance in the LGA
  5. Representative of LGA in charge of water (Head of Environmental Health Unit)
  6. Representative of LGA programme officers
  7. Representatives of heads of PHCs in the LGA
  8. One representative from the communities in the LGA
1 Dr. Aluye Briggs MOH/Chairman
2 Ibiba Goddy Oti DPHCC/ Reproductive Health Programme Manager
3 Enenimibo-ofori Krukrubo Control of Diarrhoeal Diseases (CDD) /Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT)
4 Samuel Jackreece Disease Surveillance and Notification (DSN) Program Manager
5 Youngba Dokubo Environmental Health Program Manager
6 Goba Iwo Health Education and Social Mobilization Program Manager
7 Mary K. Jack HIV/AIDS Program Manager
8 Awongo Horsfall Immunization/Cold chain Program Manager
9 Cordelia Douglas Logistics Management Coordinating Unit (LMCU) Program Manager
10 Markba Georgewill Malaria Program Manager
11 Theophilus Taribo Monitoring and Evaluation (HMIS) Program Manager
12 Ajenkebiokpoma-A Briggs Nutrition Program Manager
13 Ibiba Goddy Oti Reproductive health (RH)/Family planning (FP) Program Manager
14 Confidence Bobmanuel School Health Program Manager
15 Elizabeth Davies Tuberculosis and Leprosy Control Program Manager
16 Confidence Bob- Manuel MPHC Obonoma Head of Facility
17 Dr Andrew O. Etete MPHC Abonnema Head of Facility

Akuku Toru Facilities






You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

rsphcmb will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.