Port Harcourt

Background Information

The Port Harcourt LGA is one of the 23 LGAs in Rivers State with its headquarter at City Council, Moscow Road, Port Harcourt. It is also the capital of Rivers State. It is located in the Rivers East Senatorial district, and has 20 political wards. The old Port Harcourt was founded by the British in 1912 before LGAs were carved from it. It is bounded in the north by Obio/Akpor LGA, in the south by Okrika LGA, in the east by Eleme LGA, and in the west by Degema LGA and Atlantic ocean. The LGA occupies a land mass of 109 sq. km. The projected population of the LGA in 2020 was 864,126 spread among 564 communities. The predominant occupations of the people are commerce, white collar jobs, businesses, banking etc. The major religion is Christianity with a few adherents to a diverse set of beliefs as it is a metropolitan city. The main indigenous Ethnic groups in the LGA are Ikwerre and Okrika. There are 14 functional Primary Health Facilities spread across the LGA and Rivers State University Teaching Hospital located at Old GRA Port Harcourt.

The LGA Health Authority & Technical Committee

The Local Government Primary Health Care Authority and the Primary Health Care Technical Committee are responsible for the management and implementation of Primary Health Care activities and services at the LGA level. The health authority is the operational arm of the Rivers State Primary Health Care Management Board. It has the chairman of the local government as the Committee Chairman and the Medical Officer of Health as the Secretary. 

The PHC Technical committee is composed of the Medical Officer of Health who serves as the chairman, the Deputy PHC Coordinator, the Programme Managers of the LGA, and the heads of facilities. This committee meets once a month to discuss issues bordering on health service delivery and improvement. The following are the list of members of the committee.
  1. Hon. Chairman (or a representative) (Committee chairman)
  2. PHC Coordinator/MOH (Committee Secretary)
  3. LGA Supervisory Councilor for Health
  4. Head of Finance in the LGA
  5. Representative of LGA in charge of water (Head of Environmental Health Unit)
  6. Representative of LGA programme officers
  7. Representatives of heads of PHCs in the LGA
  8. One representative from the communities in the LGA
2JOSEPHINE OGANUZORDPHCC/ Reproductive Health Programme Manager
3NYE ABBOControl of Diarrhoeal Diseases (CDD) /Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT)
4KANYONE NFIRIDisease Surveillance and Notification (DSN) Program Manager
5GILLIAN CHINDAEnvironmental Health Program Manager
6RUTH CHIGOZIEHealth Education and Social Mobilization Program Manager
7FAITH IKEHIV/AIDS Program Manager
8GODSWILL ONYENMAImmunization/Cold chain Program Manager
9BELEMA JOSEPHLogistics Management Coordinating Unit (LMCU) Program Manager
10VIVIAN JOSIAHMalaria Program Manager
11IBIFURO SAMUELMonitoring and Evaluation (HMIS) Program Manager
12MINA KALIONutrition Program Manager
13ADLINE SOLOMONSchool Health Program Manager
14IKPEAZU NKECHITuberculosis and Leprosy Control Program Manager
15DR. ROSELINE S. AMGBARAMPHC Elekahia Head of Facility
16DR. UKOT PRINCEWILL N.MPHC Amadi-Ama Head of Facility
17DR. AYONOADU ASUEIZE .PMPHC Abuloma Head of Facility
18DR. INE FUBARA BRIGGSMPHC Churc Hill Road, Head of Facility
19DR. NGOWARI OKARAMPHC Okuru-Ama Head of Facility
20DR. CYRIL WALIMPHC Azuabie Head of Facility
22DR. WOPARA NWAMAKAMPHC Mgbudukwu Head of Facility
23DR. OKAH. TIMOTHY . I.MPHC Potts Johnson Head of Facility
24DR. ERE COOKEYMPHC Ozuboko Head of Facility
25DR. ANAELE BLESSINGMPHC Orogbum Head of Facility

Port Harcourt Facilities






You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

rsphcmb will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.