Background Information

Tai Local Government Area is situated in the South-East Senatorial Zone of Rivers State and is made up of 10 geopolitical wards, 32 communities with over 97 settlements. The main class of individuals are low and middle-income earners with few high-class earners who reside in the Local Government Area (LGA). The main occupation in Tai LGA is farming and fishing; small and medium scale (SME) businesses also exist especially in wards 2, 7 and 10. The Local Government Council is located at saakpenwa in ward 1; There are 15 health facilities in the LGA and 110 schools, including public and private schools (Nursery, Primary and Secondary) with over 371 churches. Tai LGA does not have a secondary or tertiary health care facility nor does it have a tertiary institution for education. Places of interest in Tai LGA include the Songhai farms owned by the Rivers State Government, the Police Training College, NYSC orientation camp located in Nonwa (ward 7), Banana Plantation in Ueken amongst others. The LGA is bounded by Eleme LGA on the South, Khana LGA on the North, Ogu-Bolo and Gokana LGAs on the East, and Oyigbo LGA on the West.

The LGA Health Authority & Technical Committee

The Local Government Primary Health Care Authority and the Primary Health Care Technical Committee are responsible for the management and implementation of Primary Health Care activities and services at the LGA level. The health authority is the operational arm of the Rivers State Primary Health Care Management Board. It has the chairman of the local government as the Committee Chairman and the Medical Officer of Health as the Secretary. 

The PHC Technical committee is composed of the Medical Officer of Health who serves as the chairman, the Deputy PHC Coordinator, the Programme Managers of the LGA, and the heads of facilities. This committee meets once a month to discuss issues bordering on health service delivery and improvement. The following are the list of members of the committee.
  1. Hon. Chairman (or a representative) (Committee chairman)
  2. PHC Coordinator/MOH (Committee Secretary)
  3. LGA Supervisory Councilor for Health
  4. Head of Finance in the LGA
  5. Representative of LGA in charge of water (Head of Environmental Health Unit)
  6. Representative of LGA programme officers
  7. Representatives of heads of PHCs in the LGA
  8. One representative from the communities in the LGA
1Dr. Keke RammysonMOH/Chairman
2Patience NkparaDPHCC/ Reproductive Health Programme Manager
3Clement TeeraControl of Diarrhoeal Diseases (CDD) /Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT) Programme Manager
4Thompson Menekue SundayDisease Surveillance and Notification (DSN) Programme Manager
5Anastasia Eli-Aminikpo And Benjamin AminikpoEnvironmental Health Programme Manager
6Amos Bariene JaphetHealth Education and Social Mobilization Programme Manager

Tai Facilities







You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

rsphcmb will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.