Background Information

The Oyigbo LGA is one of the 23 LGAs in Rivers State with its headquarter at Afam. It is located in the Rivers South East Senatorial district, and has 10 political wards. The LGA was created from the former Khana/Oyigbo LGA in 1991. It is bounded in the north by Abia State, in the south by Khana, Tai and Eleme LGAs, in the east by Opobo LGA and Akwa Ibom State, and in the west by Obio Akpor and Etche LGAs. The LGA occupies a land mass of 159sq. km. The projected population of the LGA in 2021 was 202,585 spread among 17 communities. The predominant occupations of the people are farming and fishing, while the major religion is Christianity with a few adherents to African Traditional Religion. The main Ethnic groups in the LGA are Ndoki and Asa. There are 8 functional Primary Health Facilities spread across the LGA.

The LGA Health Authority & Technical Committee

The Local Government Primary Health Care Authority and the Primary Health Care Technical Committee are responsible for the management and implementation of Primary Health Care activities and services at the LGA level. The health authority is the operational arm of the Rivers State Primary Health Care Management Board. It has the chairman of the local government as the Committee Chairman and the Medical Officer of Health as the Secretary. 

The PHC Technical committee is composed of the Medical Officer of Health who serves as the chairman, the Deputy PHC Coordinator, the Programme Managers of the LGA, and the heads of facilities. This committee meets once a month to discuss issues bordering on health service delivery and improvement. The following are the list of members of the committee.
  1. Hon. Chairman (or a representative) (Committee chairman)
  2. PHC Coordinator/MOH (Committee Secretary)
  3. LGA Supervisory Councilor for Health
  4. Head of Finance in the LGA
  5. Representative of LGA in charge of water (Head of Environmental Health Unit)
  6. Representative of LGA programme officers
  7. Representatives of heads of PHCs in the LGA
  8. One representative from the communities in the LGA
1Dr. Eric-Ewoh Victoria U.MOH/Chairman
2Theresa Izuchukwu-JohnDPHCC/ Reproductive Health Programme Manager
3Florence NwakanmaControl of Diarrhoeal Diseases (CDD) /Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT) Programme Manager
4Loveday OkereDisease Surveillance and Notification (DSN) Programme Manager
5Wami BlessingEnvironmental Health Programme Manager
6Charles JumboHealth Education and Social Mobilization Programme Manager
7Florence NwankwoHIV/AIDS Programme Manager
8Nnah Nkechi P.Immunization/Cold chain Programme Manager
9Ekeke UlomaLogistics Management Coordinating Unit (LMCU) Program Manager
10Okere JanetMalaria Programme Manager
11Uchenna Jude ChineduMonitoring and Evaluation (HMIS) Programme Manager
12Festus NwakakuNutrition Programme Manager
13Goodluck AkayaSchool Health Programme Manager
14Chinonyerem AdieleTuberculosis and Leprosy Control Programme Manager
15Egeolu RitaMPHC Mirinwaiyin Head of Facility
16Theresa Izuchukwu-JohnMPHC Umusoya Head of Facility
17Onyemere ChinenyeMPHC Obeakpu Head of Facility
18Iteke IjeomaMPHC Umuagbai Head of Facility
19Wochi ChinyereMPHC Obete Head of Facility
20Dr. Tormene Sunday-PiaroPHC Oyigbo
21Williams ChinenyeHP Marihu
22Ukasoanya KelechiHP Egberu

Oyigbo Facilities

PHC, Oyigbo

MPHC, Umusia

MPHC, Umuagbai

HP, Marihu

MPHC, Mrinwanyi
MPHC, Obeakpu
MPHC, Obete
HP, Egberu

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

rsphcmb will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.