Obio Akpor

Background Information

The Obio/Akpor LGA is one of the 23 LGAs in Rivers State with its headquarter at Rumuodomaya. It is located in the Rivers East and has 17 political wards. The LGA was created from the former Port Harcourt City LGA on 3rd May, 1989. It is bounded in the north by Ikwerre LGA, in the south by Port Harcourt, Okrika and Eleme LGAs, in the east by Etche and Oyigbo LGAs, and in the west by Emohua LGA. The LGA occupies a land mass of 311.71 sq. km. The projected population of the LGA in 2020 was 742,238. The predominant occupation of the indigenous people are farming, fishing and trading while the major religion is Christianity with a few adherents to African Traditional Religion. The main Ethnic group in the LGA is Ikwerre. There are functional Primary Health Facilities spread across the LGA and the University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital located at Choba.

The LGA Health Authority & Technical Committee

The Local Government Primary Health Care Authority and the Primary Health Care Technical Committee are responsible for the management and implementation of Primary Health Care activities and services at the LGA level. The health authority is the operational arm of the Rivers State Primary Health Care Management Board. It has the chairman of the local government as the Committee Chairman and the Medical Officer of Health as the Secretary. 

The PHC Technical committee is composed of the Medical Officer of Health who serves as the chairman, the Deputy PHC Coordinator, the Programme Managers of the LGA, and the heads of facilities. This committee meets once a month to discuss issues bordering on health service delivery and improvement. The following are the list of members of the committee.
  1. Hon. Chairman (or a representative) (Committee chairman)
  2. PHC Coordinator/MOH (Committee Secretary)
  3. LGA Supervisory Councilor for Health
  4. Head of Finance in the LGA
  5. Representative of LGA in charge of water (Head of Environmental Health Unit)
  6. Representative of LGA programme officers
  7. Representatives of heads of PHCs in the LGA
  8. One representative from the communities in the LGA
1Dr. Stanley AmadiMOH/Chairman
2Bobmanuel JosephineDPHCC/ Reproductive Health Programme Manager
3Akani ThankGodControl of Diarrhoeal Diseases (CDD) /Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT)
4Worlu HenriettaDisease Surveillance and Notification (DSN) Program Manager

Obio Akpor Facilities



You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

rsphcmb will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.