Background Information

The Degema LGA is one of the 23 LGAs in Rivers State with its headquarter at Degema. It is located in the Rivers West Senatorial District and has 17 political wards. The LGA is bounded in the north by Asari-Toru LGA, in the south by the Atlantic ocean, in the east by Okrika LGA, Port Harcourt, Obio/Akpor and Emohua LGAs, and in the west by Akuku-Toru LGA. The LGA occupies a landmass of 1,011sq. km. The projected population of the LGA in 2020 was 398,872 spread among 9 communities. The predominant occupation of the people is fishing, while the major religion is Christianity with a few adherents to African Traditional Religion. The main Ethnic group in the LGA isKalabari. There are 9 functional Primary Health Facilities spread across the LGA and a General Hospital located at Degema.

The LGA Health Authority & Technical Committee

The Local Government Primary Health Care Authority and the Primary Health Care Technical Committee are responsible for the management and implementation of Primary Health Care activities and services at the LGA level. The health authority is the operational arm of the Rivers State Primary Health Care Management Board. It has the chairman of the local government as the Committee Chairman and the Medical Officer of Health as the Secretary. 

The PHC Technical committee is composed of the Medical Officer of Health who serves as the chairman, the Deputy PHC Coordinator, the Programme Managers of the LGA, and the heads of facilities. This committee meets once a month to discuss issues bordering on health service delivery and improvement. The following are the list of members of the committee.
  1. Hon. Chairman (or a representative) (Committee chairman)
  2. PHC Coordinator/MOH (Committee Secretary)
  3. LGA Supervisory Councilor for Health
  4. Head of Finance in the LGA
  5. Representative of LGA in charge of water (Head of Environmental Health Unit)
  6. Representative of LGA programme officers
  7. Representatives of heads of PHCs in the LGA
  8. One representative from the communities in the LGA
1Dr. Cookey-Gam IdawarifaMOH/Chairman
2Dikkio LarrickDPHCC/Reproductive health Programme Manager
3Tamunoibelema BethanyControl of Diarrhoeal Diseases (CDD) /Oral Rehydration Therapy (ORT) Programme Manager
4Limejuiceba BobmanuelDisease Surveillance and Notification (DSN) Programme Manager
5Seigha OruwariEnvironmental Health Programme Manager
6Olu Adokiye IsomHealth Education and Social Mobilization Programme Manager
7Joyce George WarmateHIV/AIDS Programme Manager
8Isokari OwusoImmunization Programme Manager
9Misiki Ekine GeorgeLogistics Management Coordinating Unit (LMCU) Programme Manager
10Areriye IyallaMalaria Programme Manager
11Fostina IwoMonitoring and Evaluation (HMIS) Programme Manager
12Prince Omuboye ReginaldNutrition Programme Manager
13Joy Reginald DeinSchool health Programme Manager
14Ibite QuakersTuberculosis and Leprosy Control Programme Manager
15Renner WestCold Chain
16Dr. Harry D. H.MPHC, Obuama Head of Facility
17Victoria WokomaMPHC, Tombia Head of Facility
18Dr. West Michael OMPHC, Bakana Head of Facility
19Dakoru EdiyekioCHC Degema Head of Facility

Degema Facilities







You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

rsphcmb will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.